Global Sources
EE Times-Asia
Stay in touch with EE Times Asia
EE Times-Asia > RF/Microwave

16th annual global mobile awards nominations now open

Posted: 15 Sep 2010 ?? ?Print Version ?Bookmark and Share

Keywords:Mobile World Congress? mobile communications industry?

GSMA recently announced that the Global Mobile Awards 2011 are now open for entries. The Global Mobile Awards pick out excellence, achievement and innovation within the mobile communications industry.

The awards will be presented at the Mobile World Congress in Barcelona on the 15th of February 2011. GSMA's Mobile World Congress in 2011 will run from 14th to the 17th February.

The GSMA has also introduced additional awards for 2011 to adapt to new developments in the mobile industry, and has revised the entry and judging process for select awards. A new category labeled "Global Mobile App Awards", has been added and will be divided into two sub-categories, namely: "Apps of the Year" (with five awards determined by user choice and statistical analysis); and a "Judges' ChoiceBest App" award (with the winner selected by a panel of independent experts).

Chief marketing officer at the GSMA, Michael O'Hara says, "The Global Mobile Awards celebrate the very best achievements in mobile communications, an industry that continues to innovate, surprise and defy boundaries." He adds, "Now in our 16th year, we have introduced new awards to reflect emerging trends such as the proliferation of applications and the rise of connected devices in sectors such as health, transport, utilities and consumer electronics. The Global Mobile Awards continue to recognize the talent and diversity that exists across the entire mobile ecosystem and we wish all those taking part the best of luck."

Nominations for the "Best Mobile Handset/Device" and "Mobile Device Manufacturer of the Year" awards will be picked by a panel of industry experts rather than through the traditional online entry process, with the goal of accurately reflecting global market trends in device innovation and leadership.

Moreover, the GSMA has restructured a number of categories to represent the broad and ever-evolving mobile communications industry. The 'Best Technology' category has been expanded with new awards comprising 'Best Mobile Broadband Technology' and 'Best Mobile Technology for Emerging Markets', and the 'Mobile Innovation' category honoring mobile products and services with individual awards aimed at vertical sectors such as health, education, transport and utilities, as well as an award for the best new and innovative connected device offered within these sectors.

In all, 26 awards will be presented under the following categories: Global mobile app awards; Mobile advertising and marketing; Best mobile business and enterprise; Social and economic development; Mobile innovation; Green mobile award; Best mobile devices; Best technology; and Outstanding achievement awards.

The awards will be judged by a panel of independent experts, analysts, journalists, academics and, for some categories, mobile operator representatives. The GSMA will announce the shortlist of nominations for each category in mid January 2011.

Nominees for the Global Mobile Awards 2011 may now be entered online and nominations will close on 22nd November 2010. Entries are welcome from all companies across the entire mobile ecosystem.

Article Comments - 16th annual global mobile awards nom...
*? You can enter [0] more charecters.
*Verify code:


Visit Asia Webinars to learn about the latest in technology and get practical design tips.

Back to Top