Global Sources
EE Times-Asia
Stay in touch with EE Times Asia
EE Times-Asia > RF/Microwave

Marconi prize recognises trailblazers in telcos, Internet

Posted: 16 Jun 2015 ?? ?Print Version ?Bookmark and Share

Keywords:Guglielmo Marconi? radio? Internet? telecommunication? Nobel Prize?

Some Marconi Fellows are revered in academic circles but are less familiar to the public. UCLA professor Len Kleinrock, often called a father of the Internet, and Paul Baran, another Marconi Fellow, both contributed to the basic principles of packet switching, the technology underpinning the Internet. Stanford professor emeritus John Cioffi invented the DSL modem and has gone on to found several companies in the telecom space.

Several Marconi Fellows have been honoured for their enormous contributions to optical fibre, including Sir David Payne, of the University of Southampton, and Andrew Chraplyvy and Bob Tkach, researchers at Alcatel-Lucent Bell Labs.

To win a Marconi Prize you must do something both brilliant and practical, with obvious benefits to mankind through the advancement of telecommunications and the Internet. You earn extra points for helping promote and/or commercialise the invention while overcoming resistance on all fronts, demonstrating entrepreneurial capabilities.

Of course you must be nominated. Self-nominations are not accepted, and several endorsers are required. In general, winners are honoured for specific achievements, not a lifetime of work in the field.

Finally, you must impress the selection committee comprised of world-renowned engineers. Their standards are extremely high.

If you meet all these requirements and are chosen, you'll receive the $100,000 prize at the annual awards gala, which takes place this year at the Royal Society in London on Oct. 20, 2015. Peter Kirstein, called the father of the European Internet, will be honoured.

While nominations are accepted all year, if you want to be considered for the 2016 prize, your nomination should be submitted no later than July 31st. The 2015 Young Scholar Award deadline is even tighter, closing on June 30th. Submissions in English are preferred, but we will work with nominators if necessary.

Incidentally, in 2008, the Society added the Paul Baran Young Scholar Awards to recognise some of the world's most promising young scientists. Since its initiation the programme has given out 20 awards. Details on that award, given to a young researcher 27 or younger at the time of nomination, may be found at the web site as well.

- Hatti Hamlin
??The Marconi Society

?First Page?Previous Page 1???2

Article Comments - Marconi prize recognises trailblazer...
*? You can enter [0] more charecters.
*Verify code:


Visit Asia Webinars to learn about the latest in technology and get practical design tips.

Back to Top